Strategic social media (Facebook)

Mainly my social media strategy this semester has centered on my blogs and Twitter, but this week I am going to outline my strategy for Facebook. Currently I use Facebook daily, both personally and professionally. Personally, I rarely post status updates unless I have something of actual interest that can be posted. I’m not the type to post a picture of my meal or to post selfies. I more consistently use it to get updates from other people or organizations/companies. Professionally, I am the administrator of a public library Facebook page. I post daily, if not more than once a day. The library has over 1,000 followers and with our multitude of programs and events, there is always something that needs to be sent out to the audience.

Since I’m more focused on Twitter and my blogs since I think they can do more for my personal brand and for my interest in digital storytelling, my strategy for Facebook is going to be fairly simple. First, I am going to seek out groups/pages that relate to digital storytelling. Specifically I am going to look for groups that I couldn’t locate on Twitter. In addition, I will be posting status updates more frequently and in relation to posts on my digital storytelling blog. This is important because when I release my survey for my thesis I am using social media as a way to get the word out. Posting more frequently now will help  me gain more survey participants down the line.

 

One comment

  1. Cool, Caitlin. I think overall Twitter is probably better for your blog, because there are lots of journalists, writers and authors there, but hey, why not see what is out there in terms of relevant Facebook groups.

Leave a Reply

